New York I Love You…

IMG_7453 IMG_7452 IMG_7450 IMG_7449

One month into 2013. Where did January go? Oh that’s right, I’ve been a little busy. I moved from New York City, my home of six years, to try out a new adventure in my home state of Ohio. Naturally, I had to have one last epic party at my lovely Brooklyn apartment as a send off for me, my friends, and the delicious foods of NYC.

Sheffield in all its springtime glory

Sheffield in all its springtime glory

I decided on a menu of easy party food with a classic New York City twist — Pretzel Bites with Spicy Mustard, Pigs in a Blanket Stuffed with Caramelized Onions, New York Cheesecake Brownies, and Mini Black and White Cookies. Do not skip the onions when you make those little piggies, by the by, for that’s what makes them extra delicious and all your friends exclaim confusedly “Why are these so delicious?!” For the B&W cookies, pipe, don’t spread the frosting. That’s how you get those crisp, clean, New York City lines. And for the cheesecake brownies…I really just modified an old recipe of my mom’s and dubbed them NY Cheesecake Brownies. Cheating, with yummy results.

IMG_7441 IMG_7443 IMG_7444 IMG_7446

Oh, and in case you were wondering, those pretzel bites were made from SCRATCH. I got to use the dough hook attachment on my mixer for the first glorious time. Did you ever wonder what makes pretzels all pretzel-y? Well, it’s dropping the little dough nuggets in a pot of boiling water mixed with baking soda that’ll do it. Then you sprinkle them with salt (don’t splurge on pretzel salt, just use really good sea salt) and pop them in the oven until they’re golden brown.

New York City can’t be recreated, but thank goodness its food can…

About gttebykate

I am an amateur cook and baker who likes to feed her friends and whip up a frenzy in the kitchen. While I adore butter, sugar, and every kind of baked good, I also like to experiment with healthier options and substitutions...sometimes.
This entry was posted in Parties and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

