Prospect Park Muffins

Somehow I ended up with a lot of bananas that were on the verge of turning into mush. This tends to happen a lot, and it’s actually how this blog began (see: The Infamous Banana Bread). I’d been itching to make Ina’s Banana Crunch Muffins which sound like all the best breakfast elements rolled into a perfect little muffin package. However, I was feeling healthy and not really digging the idea of consuming half a pound of butter. Weight Watchers recipes to the rescue! I searched for some banana-esque muffin recipes and modified one until it was exactly what I wanted. Their original recipe called for golden raisins, which I swapped out for chopped up walnuts (thus making them Banana NUT muffins) and had a simple frosting drizzled on top. I opted out of the frosting and went with a mixture of chopped walnuts and crumbled granola, evolving these muffins once again into what shall now be known as… Kate’s Banana Nut Crunch Muffins!

These are the perfect treat to serve at a brunch or drunken breakfast party…wait, that’s what brunch is. They’re moist, tasty, and rich in banana flavor, but not loaded down with fattiness. So you don’t feel as guilty when you eat three of them. Not that I did that or anything. They’re also the ideal hand-held snack for a trip to Prospect Park to meet a best gal pal’s new BF! That’s maybe a very specific need for a muffin, but to each her own. I can’t think of a better way to spend a sunny Brooklyn afternoon — sitting in the warm, luscious park, gobbling muffins, and meeting new people. Granted, upon my arrival I discovered that the one fruit the new boy doesn’t eat: bananas. Disaster! How could I have known? Oh well, more for the girls. Let them eat muffins!

About gttebykate

I am an amateur cook and baker who likes to feed her friends and whip up a frenzy in the kitchen. While I adore butter, sugar, and every kind of baked good, I also like to experiment with healthier options and substitutions...sometimes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

