Painstakingly Patriotic Cookies

Okay, so maybe there is something just as good as pie with which to honor our forefathers…CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES! Classics for any season, these treats won’t be passed up by anyone. And in this case, red and blue M&Ms make for a festive addition.

While I was home for the Fourth, my ever-busy mother gave me a list of baked goods she hoped I would prepare before the arrival of family and friends for the holiday. I was happy to comply. On that list, next to Sour Cream Coffee Cake and Chocolate Cheesecake Brownies, was the word ‘cookies’. Instantly I decided to make traditional chocolate chip cookies studded with little bits of candy-coated patriotism.

Now, had I been in New York City where just about everything is readily available, I would have popped over to the M&M store in Times Square to acquire only red and blue M&Ms. But this is Ohio we’re talking about and my only option was to grab a bag of regular M&Ms and…you got it…sift through the entire bag and pick out the red and blue ones. Yes. I did this. In the name of this country and kitschy festive treats, I took one for the team. The strangest outcome of this task was the bowl of red-and-blueless M&Ms that was leftover. It looked like an odd Halloween mix with just greens, browns, yellows, and oranges.

Interestingly enough (or maybe not so interesting, depending on your point of view), I had made chocolate chip cookies early in the week using the recipe on the back of the chocolate chip bag. The cookies turned out quite crispy and delicate, which is great, unless you’re a fan of big, soft, chewy cookies like I am. My mom typically halves the amount of butter called for and replaces the second half with shortening. I neglected to do that, so maybe that accounts for the flatness of my cookies. It was also suggested that I beat the batter too long — another possibility. I didn’t want to take any chances with my patriotic cookies, so I busted out Martha’s Cooking School Book (autographed by the lady herself, I might add) and used her classic drop cookies recipe. That, combined with a perfectly-sized scooper yielded perfectly plump cookies bursting with chocolatey Fourth of July goodness. You’re welcome, John Adams.

About gttebykate

I am an amateur cook and baker who likes to feed her friends and whip up a frenzy in the kitchen. While I adore butter, sugar, and every kind of baked good, I also like to experiment with healthier options and substitutions...sometimes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Painstakingly Patriotic Cookies

  1. susan manecke says:

    Patriotic, yes, and perfectly delicious, too!

  2. Drew says:

    I want some of that cookie dough!

Leave a Reply

