Ina Believer

The great goddess of all things classy, simple, and elegant has a new book coming out! I was not at all aware of this until I got an urgent email from a good friend and fellow Ina fan. The subject of this email was merely: “aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!”

An appropriate sentiment for such a monumental occasion.

Ina and I had a moment once. It was one of my most memorable celebrity sightings, even after working SNL as a Page and sharing a hallway with the Jimmy Fallon gang, Ina takes the cake. It was just about this time last year and they were setting up the replica of her gorgeous Hamptons kitchen in the plaza outside 30 Rock. I was waiting in the lobby to greet some new staff members of the show I was working for at the time and all of a sudden, I saw her. Shiny dark hair, big smile, and that unmistakable voice I’d heard utter “how easy is that?” a thousand times on the Food Network. I froze. I was so excited. I wanted to tell her how I worshiped her, adored her cookbooks, and stopped everything when her show came on. And then she walked. right. up. to me. Panic! Sheer panic.

She was with a publicist or assistant of some sort and they looked me in the eye and asked where they could get a cup of coffee. Having spent a great deal of time giving tours of the building to clueless tourists, I knew where just about every accessible caffeine resource was located. I managed to string together a cohesive sentence and indicated that Starbucks and Cucina were just down the stairs. They thanked me and turned away, walking out of my life forever. And that was it. If I’d had my wits about me, I would have articulated in a very intelligent and confident way just how much I admire her work. Naturally, we would have become best friends and she’d have asked me to come work for her testing recipes in her sunnily striped East Hampton kitchen. Yes, that definitely would have been the outcome…

Regardless of the fact that I blew my shot at becoming Ina’s right hand gal, I’m ridiculously excited about her new book. Ina’s books are beautiful, informative, and classic. They are my go-to resource for any and all parties, from intimate get togethers to big fancy dinners. She’s a stickler for quality ingredients (eg. ‘good mayonnaise’, ‘good olive oil’, ‘good vanilla’, etc.) but makes her recipes accessible to the everyday cook. She embodies the essence of simple elegance and brings it right into your home with each new book. Is it October 26th yet??

About gttebykate

I am an amateur cook and baker who likes to feed her friends and whip up a frenzy in the kitchen. While I adore butter, sugar, and every kind of baked good, I also like to experiment with healthier options and substitutions...sometimes.
This entry was posted in Books, Ina. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ina Believer

  1. sbm says:

    How exciting–#6 🙂 Guess what I want for Christmas?!

Leave a Reply

