Cake for Cake’s Sake

I have been dreaming up the most decadently fabulous cake for the past few weeks now. It’s been dominating my brain cells. When I go for a run, all I do is run through the steps of creating this soon-to-be masterpiece. And then I finish my run and I want cake. It’s really quite counter-productive.

I’ve been planning cake for my cousin’s 30th birthday bash which I am hosting at my apartment this weekend. Let me tell you, it’s quite the undertaking to be responsible not only for the delicious and breathtaking baked goods (modesty is not part of this recipe), but the party locale as well. Since making lists is one of my favorite things to do, it’s actually been a lot of fun getting ready for this party. Maybe I should be a party planner. My roommate and I throw epic parties at Sheffield.

So the cake…

Suffice it to say, it’s not the confection you see featured in this post. This is a cake from the archives of Good Things to Eat. I made it with excess batter and frosting from a batch of birthday cupcakes I made for a friend. I know, right? Who has excess frosting? Instead of smearing it directly into my mouth, I decided to make a no-reason cake instead. Thus, I give you this cake. The pre-cursor to the monstrosity that’s been brewing in my mind for days on end. I even bought a sketch pad and colored pencils to try and map out the cake design. I realize I’m getting a bit carried away with this and I fear all this over-promising will lead to under-delivery. Regardless, I’m psyched to make this cake.

Naturally, I already baked the two layers of chocolate devil’s food cake last week and froze them, securely wrapped in their saran wrap jackets. That will give me more time to make the three different types of icing I need this weekend. Yes. THREE. DIFFERENT. TYPES.

  1. Raspberry Buttercream – to be layered between the sliced slabs of dense chocolate cake
  2. Dark chocolate frosting – to be spread all around said layers of cake and raspberry goodness
  3. Vanilla Frosting – half to be tinted pink; all of it to be used to pipe decorative dots and hopefully a legible birthday message

A daunting frosting challenge if I do say so myself. But I am certainly up for it. I made my massive party grocery store run today and I think it’s safe to say I was the only one walking out of that store with 14 sticks of butter and 4 pounds of confectioner’s sugar. This cake does not mess around.

So in honor of the mack daddy of cakes that will make its debut this Saturday evening in celebration of the lovely Hallie’s 30 years on this earth, I give you a gratuitous display of cake photos to whet your appetite. Stay tuned for a step-by-step process of this weekend’s challenge…assuming I can pull it off. I hope it doesn’t end up on Cake Wrecks.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About gttebykate

I am an amateur cook and baker who likes to feed her friends and whip up a frenzy in the kitchen. While I adore butter, sugar, and every kind of baked good, I also like to experiment with healthier options and substitutions...sometimes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cake for Cake’s Sake

  1. sbm says:

    I can hardly wait to see the finished decadence! If you intended to whet my appetite, you are victorious 🙂 Happy Birthday (party), Hallie!

Leave a Reply

