Just when you thought it was safe…

It’s over right? The epic cake came and went. There can’t possibly be more. You might have thought I’d spare you from another glutinous display of decadent deliciousness so soon after your recovery from the chocolate and raspberry three layer monster. Well, you are sorely mistaken.

Somewhere in the planning process for Hallie’s party, a friend made a loving suggestion that there probably wouldn’t be enough cake for everyone. Naturally I decided it would be best to have some sort of cake back up plan in case of such a tragic occurrence. I was not about to let there be a cake shortage in my own home. I originally intended to top these mini cupcakes with a rich, shiny ganache glaze and a bright red raspberry. But when it came time to make the glaze, I realized I had about a half ton of raspberry buttercream left over. Turns out, there was PLENTY of cake. Enough to feed a small cake-loving country. But these little guys were almost like dessert appetizers that people could nibble on before the main cake event. They are charming and petite and I love how you can see the flecks of fresh raspberry studded throughout the fluffy pink frosting.

Although I was tempted to grab a spoon and put an abrupt end to the leftover buttercream situation, it seemed best to pack it up and stick it in the fridge. So a little reconstituting had to be done by way of my good old fashioned hand mixer. Once the frosting was smooth and manageable again I was able to load it into my Austin Powers piping gun (I’m offically calling it that from now on) and give those mini cupcakes their pink swirly tops.

Look at the disgraceful state of my classic red baking apron! Clearly it’s been well-loved. I suppose it’s better than my actual clothes being caked in flour.

I created a make shift display for these back-up cakelets by inverting a sweet little blue bowl on to a small plate and stacking a second plate on top. It’s not rocket science, but it’s definitely cute and functional. The tiered effect makes it much more elegant. Suffice it to say, there was ample cake at this party. Given the fact that most of my past few posts have featured  the word ‘cake’, I think we all know what I love to make. Oh dear God, that even rhymed.

Get ready for more cupcakes this weekend as I have yet ANOTHER epicly awesome 30th birthday to celebrate. This time it’s that of my older bro. Somebody had better get started planning a badass 30th birthday bash for me. You’ve got three years, people.

About gttebykate

I am an amateur cook and baker who likes to feed her friends and whip up a frenzy in the kitchen. While I adore butter, sugar, and every kind of baked good, I also like to experiment with healthier options and substitutions...sometimes.
This entry was posted in Cakes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

