Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Walnut Cookies

I know, there’s a lot going on in these cookies. There are four whole descriptors that precede the word ‘cookie’ in its name. That’s big time. Oatmeal is typically paired with raisins when it comes to cookies. But how can you go wrong with chocolate? The oatmeal-chocolate chip-walnut combination works quite well and offsets the sweetness of the typical sugar and creamed butter cookie dough.

A co-worker of mine asked me recently if I could make her some oatmeal cookies. This request surprised me because she tends to shy away from anything remotely healthy. Granted, they’re still cookies and don’t rank too high on the good-for-you scale, but oatmeal itself skews healthy. Adding oatmeal to cookies is a great way to make yourself feel just a tiny bit better about eating five of them in one sitting. Although, she was adamant that oatmeal’s typical cookie partner in crime, raisin, not make an appearance. The understudy of choice for that particularly role was, naturally, chocolate chips.

The recipe was a bit makeshift, especially since I doubled it. Things get a little fuzzy once you reach the four sticks of butter mark. I fudged it a little with the walnuts bu adding about 1/2 a cup of finely chopped and 1/2 cup of roughly chopped. The cookies could have benefited from more walnut pieces and second helping of chocolate chips due to the sheer volume of batter, but what isn’t better with extra chocolate chips?

For some ungodly reason I thought it would be a good idea to double the recipe. I ended up with close to 100 cookies. I was a baking machine. One element that slowed me down is the fact that my jars of sugar and flour are only wide enough for a 1/2 cup measure to fit in and scoop out the necessary ingredients. So if I need 2 cups of flour, I have to dip the 1/2 cup in 4 times. There are suddenly a lot of numbers flying around. Fortunately, my spring-loaded ice cream scoop sped up the process. I should probably invest in a slightly smaller one though because the dough balls this one yields are just slightly too big. If placed too close together on the baking sheet, they are likely to collide and fuse together, creating a massive hybrid cookie that somewhat resembles a monkey. Trial and error, folks.

Accidental monkey cookie... do you see it?

The massive amount of cookie dough – so much that my mixer bowl barely contained it ll – made for a lot more cookies than I had originally intended. I think I have carpal tunnel from all the scooping. The cookies baked rather quickly, so I barely had time to watch one scene from Modern Family before I had to rotate the pans.

I love the idea of people coming up with exactly what they want and I bake it for them. It’s like a design your ideal cookie program. They should make salad bars that are composed of cookie ingredients. You walk up to the counter, choose what type of batter you want and then add your toss-ins like chocolate chips, nuts, raisins, candies, dried fruit, etc. Then the mix it all together, scoop, bake, and serve — fresh out of the oven personalized cookies. I think we’re on to something here. But instead of a big plastic bowl, your hand-crafted treats will come adorably packaged like this…

About gttebykate

I am an amateur cook and baker who likes to feed her friends and whip up a frenzy in the kitchen. While I adore butter, sugar, and every kind of baked good, I also like to experiment with healthier options and substitutions...sometimes.
This entry was posted in Cookies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

