Hearty Pumpkin Breakfast

Oatmeal really is the best way to start the day. I always thought the phrase “sticks to your ribs” was bogus…and a little gross.. But it’s the most accurate way to describe how a hearty bowl of oatmeal stays with you throughout the day. I’ve recently discovered quick cooking oats with which I am currently obsessed. Just a half cup of dry oats creates a heaping bowl full of warm, creamy oatmeal. It’s like a blank canvas on which you can design your own personal breakfast masterpiece. Absolutely anything can be mixed in. My go-to is a simple squeeze of honey and a sprinkling of cinnamon. But this pumpkin challenge has required me to think outside the box. With gourds on the brain, I thought my morning oatmeal was a great way to add a little pumpkin kick.

All I had to do was stir a scoop of pumpkin puree into the cooked oats and mix. A trio of fall spices — nutmeg, cloves, and cinnamon gave the oatmeal the flavor boost it needed. It’s been considerably gloomy and rainy here in New York the past week, but curling up with a bowl of pumpkin oatmeal before heading out to face the day made the weather that much easier to bear.

Rarely do any of us have enough time in the morning before work or school to sit and enjoy breakfast. My roommate and I have dubbed that magic hour between getting up and leaving the house as “Veronica Time”. Let me explain… Have you ever watched a TV show where the family has an infinite amount of time to hang out and eat eggs and bacon before school? You have, trust me. It’s ridiculous. No one has that much time before school. No real kid gets up early enough to enjoy a sit down breakfast with the fam. That is absurd. You wake up, blearily put on something resembling clothes, and jet out the door praying you’ll make it on time. You’ll see this practice on such classic shows as “Growing Pains”, “Family Ties”, and “Charles in Charge”. The name we gave it comes from the under-appreciated cult hit “Veronica Mars” — V always had time to sit at the table, read the paper, eat breakfast, AND solve a crime. All before first period.

About gttebykate

I am an amateur cook and baker who likes to feed her friends and whip up a frenzy in the kitchen. While I adore butter, sugar, and every kind of baked good, I also like to experiment with healthier options and substitutions...sometimes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

