Attack of the Mumkin

I wish I could say I used the glorious weekend weather to my advantage by sitting on my stoop and creating decorative pumpkin masterpieces. Alas, this beauty comes from the archives of my obsession with the month of October.

That reminds me, if you haven’t watched last Thursday’s 30 Rock, do so immediately. That way you can revel in Paul Giamatti’s portrayal of a disgruntled NBC editor who is begrudgingly “working on a piece for The Today Show about how next month is October”. Classic. Tina Fey gets me.

Sorry, back on track. So, as you can imagine, I love carving pumpkins. I got a bit carried away one fall not too long ago as I sat on my stoop maniacally scraping out the insides of a massive pumpkin. My goal was to create a pumpkin planter that would serve as a snug holder for a mum plant. The final product was exactly what I had pictured — I was in love.

I remember sitting outside that day, hollowing out that pumpkin, locked in a carving trance the way I imagine most ice sculptors must work. People would walk by and literally ooh and aah. I am not kidding. My roommate joined me on the stoop with a beer to kick back and enjoy the fall sunshine. After a few groups walked past and inquired as to where my creative genius stemmed from (am I getting carried away again?) my roommate finally frustratedly blurts out “SHE WORKS FOR MARTHA STEWART!” This seemed to make sense to people and succeeded in bringing me out of my pumpkin carving-induced reverie. Yes, Martha had been a great inspiration for this project. But this was no ordinary pumpkin planter. It was a magical embodiment of fall festivities — a vessel for autumnal cheer if you will. It even has a nickname. We dubbed it “The Mumkin”…because it’s a pumpkin that holds mums. You get it. I don’t mean to undermine your intelligence. But come on! How adorable is that?

About gttebykate

I am an amateur cook and baker who likes to feed her friends and whip up a frenzy in the kitchen. While I adore butter, sugar, and every kind of baked good, I also like to experiment with healthier options and substitutions...sometimes.
This entry was posted in Pumpkins!. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

