Sparkly Pumpkins

True, you can’t eat these pumpkins (or shouldn’t, rather). That glitter could get stuck in your teeth… But they sure are fun to look at. It was just too glorious outside today to spend time inside cooking, so we busted out the glitter. Oddly enough, two of my friends almost simultaneously exclaimed their desire to do a craft. I leapt at the chance to get crafty. Ever since I sliced my finger with a circle cutting tool, it’s recommended that I don’t craft alone. But having some friends on board makes it all the better.

These pumpkins are simple, cooky, outrageous, autumnal, and they are definitely all sparkly. This is what a pumpkin would wear out on New Year’s Eve. Sitting on the stoop covering pumpkins with glue and glitter, our glasses of red wines at our side, certainly garnered askance glances and the occasional comment. I think people were initially surprised to see three twenty-something girls surrounded by tiny pumpkins and flinging glitter all over the place, but they generally over came their shock and smiled at the sight.  We churned out some pretty fantastic-looking pumpkins that now adorn the mantle in my apartment.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

About gttebykate

I am an amateur cook and baker who likes to feed her friends and whip up a frenzy in the kitchen. While I adore butter, sugar, and every kind of baked good, I also like to experiment with healthier options and substitutions...sometimes.
This entry was posted in Pumpkins!. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sparkly Pumpkins

  1. sbm says:

    Very clever, very sparkly, very cute…and the pumpkins are too 🙂

  2. janei horn says:

    Where did you get pumpkins with such great stems????? I love the lavender one!

Leave a Reply

