Pumpkin Seed Granola

Well, I’ve officially solved my conundrum as to what to do with leftover pumpkin seeds. The usual toasted pumpkin seeds just don’t do it for me. They’re kind of boring on their own. I thought they’d make a great addition to granola. And fear not, they do! Being part of a group takes the pressure off the pumpkin seeds to deliver flavor. Which is good because they are generally lacking in that area. Typically they are used as toasted vehicles for salt and spices. But what I like about the granola plan is that they are sweet instead of savory.

It’s amazing how these seeds go from slimy wet pods to golden bits of dry toastiness in a matter of minutes. I thought it would be a good idea to toast the seeds before adding them to the granola. Making due with what I had, I added tossed about a cup and a half of oats with a cup of puffed rice and a scoop of puffed wheat. The dry cereal adds an airy crunch to the hearty oats and crispy pumpkin seeds.

Honey, vegetable oil, apple juice and vanilla blend together to form the granola-binding liquid. The honey makes it thick and rich while the apple juice thins it out and bring a fruity boost of flavor. I wanted to echo the harvest element that the pumpkin seeds brought to the granola party by using traditional fall spices like cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves. All of the components toasted away in the oven, getting browner and more full of flavor by the minute. I may have added the dried cranberries before popping the granola into the oven which was a bogus move. Rather than pick out each individual cranberry I decided to wing it and hope for the best, a frequent method of mine. It actually worked out really well because the cranberries took on an extra chewy texture in the oven and burst with sweetness when you crunch down on a mouthful of tasty granola. The doubly toasted pumpkin seeds were right at home in this sweet and crunchy treat. I can’t wait for breakfast…

About gttebykate

I am an amateur cook and baker who likes to feed her friends and whip up a frenzy in the kitchen. While I adore butter, sugar, and every kind of baked good, I also like to experiment with healthier options and substitutions...sometimes.
This entry was posted in Pumpkins!. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pumpkin Seed Granola

  1. elizabeth says:

    I’ve only had pumpkin seeds in savory dishes (toasted with chipotle powder as a garnish with avocado soup) but I could easily see them working well in a sweet function too. The next time the husband makes granola bars I’ll tell him to use these too.

    Wow–31 days of pumpkins? That is ambitious, but such a fun way to celebrate the season!

  2. gttebykate says:

    Thanks for the comment, Elizabeth! I think you might be my FIRST non friend/relative comment…so it’s a big day for me. I like the idea of savory pumpkin seeds as a garnish for soup — maybe I’ll try that. Your blog is gorgeous and I’m excited to get lost in it and get some ideas. I’m still learning the tricks of the blogging trade and hope to make mine a little more aesthetically pleasing. It’s so exciting to connect with another New York food blogger!

    And yes, the pumpkin challenge can be a bit overwhelming at times, but I’m doing my best to stick with it. We’ll see how long it lasts!

Leave a Reply

