Because man cannot live on pumpkin alone…

You have, no doubt, been asking yourself “What were those tantalizing green vegetables served alongside Kate’s Pumpkin Mushroom Soup? I must know!” That’s what you were thinking, right? Right?? Well let me relieve the anticipation for you. They are Spiced Lemony Brussels Sprouts from the latest issue of Martha’s Everyday Food Magazine. This is one handy little publication as it fits perfectly in your bag for last minute trips to the store. Also, being a list-maker myself, I have great respect for the little check boxes next to each ingredient listed in the recipe. It makes shopping all that much easier…although I still managed to forget the olive oil and had to dispatch Hallie to pick some up.

The pumpkin soup was certainly the star of the meal, but like a leading lady’s quirky best gal pal, these brussels sprouts brought out the best. To think, we almost made a salad to go with the soup. How utterly blasĂ©. This soup needed something heartier to stand up to the bold flavors of the pumpkin…and accidental overdose of mushroom. Hallie had been craving brussels sprouts and the minute she mentioned them I flashed on a recipe I’d seen in my copy of EDF.

It was the perfect recipe — so simple, fresh, and zesty. Anyone who thinks they don’t like brussels sprouts needs to revisit them immediately. Because you do. Disliking roasted brussels sprouts is not an option. First of all, they’re like teeny tiny cabbage heads. Anything in miniature is automatically adorable. The mini cabbage heads become soft and tender as they roast and then they begin to caramalize and brown. When you take a bite, the exterior is crispy and loaded with crunchy flavor crystals, while the interior falls apart in your mouth. They are vegetable candy. You know those commercials for ranch dressing where they trick kids into thinking eating cauliflower is the same as eating an ice cream cone? Well, in the case of roasted brussels sprouts it’s pretty much true. They are like a healthy vegetable version of Pringles — once you pop, you can’t stop.

There are so few elements to this dish that you could add it to any meal in a flash. However, it’s fancy enough that I think these scrumptious sprouts will be gracing my Thanksgiving table as well. The sliced brussels sprouts get topped with a drizzle of olive oil, salt, pepper, and curve ball: curry powder. Once they turn all brown and roasted, you squeeze on a splash of lemon juice which brightens the little sprouts right up. And then, you get fancy with a lemon zester and sprinkle a few strips of lemon zest all around to make it even prettier.

I mean, I don’t want to brag, but COME ON. My brussels sprouts might as well be looking in a mirror at their magazine counter part. How many times have you seen a photo of food and wished you could reach your hand right into the page and grab it? If you’re me, the answer is a million times. These brussels sprouts were just about as close as you can get. And until they invent food teleportation (oh my God, how has no one invented that?), I’ll have to settle for trying out recipes that catch my eye.

About gttebykate

I am an amateur cook and baker who likes to feed her friends and whip up a frenzy in the kitchen. While I adore butter, sugar, and every kind of baked good, I also like to experiment with healthier options and substitutions...sometimes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

