Pumpkin Pancakes…for Dinner!

I’ll be the first to admit, I’ve been suffering from pumpkin fatigue. Don’t get me wrong, it’s still delicious, festive, versatile, and cooking with it is truly the best way to celebrate this wonderful autumnal season. But come on. Pumpkin everyday for a month? What was I thinking? As I dragged my tired body into my apartment last night around 9pm, the last thing I wanted to do was cook. But somewhere, deep down inside, I found the motivation when three magical words popped into my mind: breakfast for dinner.

There’s something whimsical and jovial about having breakfast foods for dinner. It’s like you’re breaking a rule or disobeying your parents. I felt the need to shout over my plate of warm pumpkin pancakes “Guys, I’m eating junk and watching rubbish! You better come out and stop me!” a la Kevin McCallister. But no one can stop me! Grown-ups can eat whatever they want for dinner and I am totally a grown-up…who knows the Home Alone movies entirely too well.

However, I could hear my health-conscious Jiminy Cricket whispering in my ear to maybe take it easy with this recipe and go the whole wheat route. So these pancakes did not embody the richy, fluffy, butteriness that accompanies most things that end in the word ‘cake’. But they were certainly tasty and bursting with pumpkin flavors and warm spices. Skim milk mixed with a little vinegar replaced the called-for buttermilk and whole oats added some nutritional heft and hearty texture. Whisking in the canned pumpkin really thickened up the batter and it was ready for the griddle in no time. I found the recipe in the most novice way — by Googling “healthy pumpkin pancakes“. Clever, I know.

Even in my wildest breakfast-for-dinner dreams, I couldn’t finish all of these fragrant, golden brown pancakes. I piled a tall stack on a plate, drizzled them with honey (maple syrup proving too contrasting a flavor for me), and topped them with whipped cream and a sprinkling of cinnamon. It was a richly decadent experience and the mere fact that it was dark outside made the meal that much more extravagant. I sealed up the leftover pancakes in plastic bags lined with parchment paper and stored them in the freezer. Now I’m just one visit to the toaster oven away from another heaping pile of late night flapjacks, pumpkin-style.

About gttebykate

I am an amateur cook and baker who likes to feed her friends and whip up a frenzy in the kitchen. While I adore butter, sugar, and every kind of baked good, I also like to experiment with healthier options and substitutions...sometimes.
This entry was posted in Pumpkins!. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

