Working Lunch

I am an enigma. First I complain about pumpkin overload and then I go and order it for lunch. There’s this funky little cafe near my office that always features a few specialty salads that differ each day. It’s like the speakeasy of the salad world. They don’t post the menu online, so you have to call and ask them to fax it to you. But my office is so new that I don’t think we even have a fax machine. Or if we do I have no idea where it is. Honestly, I’m not sure how fax machines still exist. Seriously? The fax machine managed to make its way into the 21st century? It seems so antiquated and I just can’t grasp how something fancier hasn’t taken its place. Yet we cling to it for our document-transferring needs.

Regardless, this cafe will only fax you their specials. Unless you sweet talk them on the phone and wait on hold for 5 minutes for them to read the specials to you at a rapid fire pace. As I read back my scribblings I was able to decipher one particular salad that peeked my gourd-loving interest. Roasted Butternut Squash Salad with Pears and Walnuts. Sold. I’ve been toying with the idea of incorporating butternut squash into the challenge because honestly, once chopped and roasted, who can tell the difference?

Butternut squash played pumpkin understudy gloriously while roasted pears and caramelized walnuts filled their dutiful supporting roles with a sweet and crunchy flair. Even though this salad was crafted without any aid from me, I’d happily serve it…or simply order it again for lunch.

About gttebykate

I am an amateur cook and baker who likes to feed her friends and whip up a frenzy in the kitchen. While I adore butter, sugar, and every kind of baked good, I also like to experiment with healthier options and substitutions...sometimes.
This entry was posted in Pumpkins!. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

