Brooklyn Soup Festival

Not only does fall bring with it colorful leaves and crisp air, but also a plethora of fun and different activities. How many of your friends have posted apple-picking pictures? More than you can count on one hand I bet. But I am not knocking activities – I love them. It’s dangerously easy to spend a gorgeous autumn Saturday inside bonding with your DVR, and it takes a bit of effort to get up and going. That effort is minimized when you have something specific to do. I’ve spent the past few weeks scanning local newspapers and blogs for work and I’ve been surprised by how many free/inexpensive activities are out there this fall.

One that intrigued me the most was the first ever Smith Street Soup Festival in Brooklyn. I live in Brooklyn, as do many of my friends. It’s the best of the boroughs in my opinion, and a walking soup tour solidified that for me. I would gladly spend a sunny afternoon perusing the shops on Smith St. while stopping for award-winning soup along the way. I first learned about it from this super cute Brooklyn blog, Pardon Me for Asking. And guess what, my friends and I made it into one of the photos they posted from the festival!

Although, if this photo is the haystack, we are most certainly a bunch of proverbial needles – you can hardly see us. But we were there! It’s like we’re celebrities and this is Gawker Stalker!…except not.

Our first stop on the tour was Seersucker, a suave yet accessible little place with tasty Southern fare. Most of the featured soups were amazing and even though it was borderline hot out, I still managed to get that warm soup belly feeling. My personal faves were the Curry Chicken Soup from Seersucker and the Roasted Butternut Squash from Apartment 138. You always remember your first soup (that’s a saying, right?), so the Curry Chicken had an unfair advantage. But it was delicious – spicy and sweet with delectable strips of chicken, shards of crunchy almonds, and plump golden raisins. The Butternut Squash was like velvet on the tongue and was topped with lemon-pressed olive oil, which put me right over the edge.

I’m I’m going to go ahead and count that four ounce cup of magical butternut squash perfection towards the Pumpkin Challenge. One cannot be expected to stay home churning out pumpkin recipes when there is sunshine to enjoy and soup to be sampled…

 

 

About gttebykate

I am an amateur cook and baker who likes to feed her friends and whip up a frenzy in the kitchen. While I adore butter, sugar, and every kind of baked good, I also like to experiment with healthier options and substitutions...sometimes.
This entry was posted in Pumpkins! and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

