Autumnal Summer Salad

Tomatoes, cucumber, and lime juice don’t exactly scream October, but they make an excellent accompaniment for harvest squashes. Alright, alright, I’ll admit it — I used butternut squash for this salad rather than pumpkin, but who’s counting. Oh right, I am… At first I thought this salad might be a little wonky with the warm notes to the squash and the summer breeze-invoking citrus flavors, but it was a match made in seasonal heaven.

I roasted the butternut squash with olive oil, salt, pepper, and garlic until it became tender and browned. It smelled amazing…and then I had my first bite. I couldn’t stop eating it. Every time I walked past the pan I’d snag one like they were Hershey’s Kisses in the office candy bowl. How can squash be so good that I’m likening it to chocolate?

The only other prep involved in this salad is chopping — tomatoes, red, onion, cucumbers, and celery. It sounds like the beginnings of a Greek salad, but it is so not. Summer meets fall when the flavors in this salad come together. The warm squash brightens up when it gets hit with a squeeze of lime juice and an extra drizzle of olive oil. Black beans are the final addition to this unorthodox salad, but it all blends perfectly.

You really wouldn’t expect to find roasted squash mixed together with bright cherry tomatoes, juicy cucumbers, crisp red onions and black beans, but oh does it work. It’s the best of both seasonal worlds.

About gttebykate

I am an amateur cook and baker who likes to feed her friends and whip up a frenzy in the kitchen. While I adore butter, sugar, and every kind of baked good, I also like to experiment with healthier options and substitutions...sometimes.
This entry was posted in Pumpkins!. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

