Salted Pumpkin Caramels

I bet you can’t spot the pumpkin in this one. That’s because it’s disguised by caramel! Even pumpkin needs a costume, and what’s Halloween without candy? This is my final pumpkin trick and it was a doozy. As I’ve mentioned before, caramel intimidates me. But this time I came prepared — I bought a candy thermometer to help me reach those fickle, temperature specific candy making stages. It was a life saver. Clipping it onto the pot made me feel instantly comfortable. As the red bar slowly inched higher and higher I knew I was on track with the caramel process.

A friend of mine sent me this recipe from the fantastic blog food52…as if Amanda Hesser isn’t busy enough this week with her gorgeous new cookbook. I knew instantly that I wanted to make these because I love caramel and the flavors of pumpkin and cinnamon could only enhance it. The toasted pepitas serve as a crunchy crust for the chewy caramel and the flaky pieces of sea salt give it that extra zing. It’s amazing how many flavors burst out of this little candy. But hold on to your molars because it is ridiculously chewy! That might be good in the long run as it will keep me from eating a million of them. This is one nutty, salty, sweet, chewy, pumpkin-y treat I’d be happy to lean on a doorbell for this Halloween.

About gttebykate

I am an amateur cook and baker who likes to feed her friends and whip up a frenzy in the kitchen. While I adore butter, sugar, and every kind of baked good, I also like to experiment with healthier options and substitutions...sometimes.
This entry was posted in Pumpkins!. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Salted Pumpkin Caramels

  1. jen says:

    the *candy* thermometer is a LIFE SAVER. get it???

    nicely done on these, i’d like to try one soon, please.

  2. cheese1227 says:

    So glad you liked the recipe!

Leave a Reply

