Harvest Pasta

I have developed a recent obsession with parsnips. Random, I know. What is a parsnip anyway? I believe it’s some sort of root that is primarily ignored. No one’s favorite food is the parsnip. Somehow I ended up with a container of sliced up parsnips (that’s just how I roll) and decided to give them a try. Thank God I did because roasted parsnips are exquisitely delicious. I could eat them like potato chips. And I did. But then I decided to dig around and find an actual recipe that incorporates parsnips.

You’d think I’d be completely over gourds by now, but no. I am still rocking the squash. This winter vegetable pasta dish was inspired by a Weight Watchers recipe and combines the flavors of autumn with a fresh twist. The squash and parsnips are roasted with just a bit of salt, pepper, and olive oil. At the last minute I threw in some corn to toast up along side them. The leeks were annoying. Leeks are huge. And a they come four to a bunch. Let’s just say I have a lot of leeks leftover. So I’ll need some ideas to use them up. But they look pretty all sliced up and ready to go.

Once the leeks are browned, they simmer in a bit of vegetable stock which forms a light sauce. There are a lot of components to this dish, but they come together pretty simply. Whole wheat pasta makes the perfect bed for the warm roasted veggies and crisp sugar snap peas add a little color and freshness. The dried cranberries on top were a last minute call, but they provided that missing zing element with their sweet chewiness. A sprinkling of parmesan cheese tied everything together in a salty, nutty fashion. It’s definitely a hearty, delicious way to highlight the underdog that is the parsnip.

About gttebykate

I am an amateur cook and baker who likes to feed her friends and whip up a frenzy in the kitchen. While I adore butter, sugar, and every kind of baked good, I also like to experiment with healthier options and substitutions...sometimes.
This entry was posted in Main Dish and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

