Thanksgiving Overhaul

Oh Thanksgiving, you cruel harvest mistress. You tempt us with your abundant spreads, heavenly aromas, and once-a-year decadence. Is there another holiday that revolves so greatly around food? If there is I can’t think of it. Probably due to the copious amounts of triptafen coursing through my bloodstream, slowing the thought process and making me sleepy.

But as we approach the dark, dreary days of winter, why not indulge in these special treats and eat like there’s no tomorrow? We can pretend we’re grizzly bears storing up fat for hibernation. Ah, but the flaw there is that grizzly bears don’t have to squeeze into New Year’s Eve party dresses in a few weeks’ time. Damn you grizzly bears.

My mom is a masterful cook and anything I’ve ever slaved over pales in comparison to the delicious concoctions she can whip up in a matter of minutes. Our Thanksgiving celebrations are usually quite large despite our small family. I think my mom feels like it’s not officially a holiday unless the guest list reaches the double digits. But more is certainly merrier in our house and the food seems endless, as though it actually spouted from a magical cornucopia. Although I think our 18-pound turkey may have exceeded the limits for a 10 person feast, but you can never have too many leftovers. My contributions this year consisted of mashed sweet potatoes, roasted Brussels sprouts, fresh cranberry sauce, and of course, dessert.

I stuck with a basic pumpkin pie baked into a golden brown graham cracker crust – I’m not a huge fan of pumpkin pie in traditional crust because it gets too soggy. But the cinnamon graham crackers add a toasty, crumbly goodness that complements the warm flavors of the pumpkin filling perfectly.

Gluttony aside, this time of year is about family, friends, and the little time we get to spend together. For me, standing in my family’s kitchen helping my mom cook, laughing with my dad, goofing around with my brother, and generally enjoying each others’ company is what it’s all about. Not the hokey pokey, contrary to popular belief. Brian Andreas is an artist who creates whimsical sketches that accompany heartfelt and humorous sayings in his Story People collection. Geek that I am, I subscribe to his daily newsletter and the one I received today seemed perfect in so many ways…

There are things you do because they feel right & they may make no sense & they may make no money & it may be the real reason we are here: to love each other & to eat each other’s cooking & say it was good.

 

About gttebykate

I am an amateur cook and baker who likes to feed her friends and whip up a frenzy in the kitchen. While I adore butter, sugar, and every kind of baked good, I also like to experiment with healthier options and substitutions...sometimes.
This entry was posted in Holidays and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thanksgiving Overhaul

  1. Nancy Bartholomew says:

    Oh, how I wish I had been with you on Thanksgiving. There’s nothing better than family. Can’t wait until Christmas! Love you ALL!

  2. janei horn says:

    How about some pictures of the people?????? or are they on Facebook?

Leave a Reply

