Oh look, they’re little footballs

I’m looking for Ray Finkle…and a clean pair of shorts.

So the Super Bowl was yesterday. Some dudes played some football and stuff. Obviously everything I know about football I learned from Ace Ventura. Laces out! But I’m a team player and a sucker for parties, so it’s not hard to get me to attend a football viewing event. Especially if I can make cupcakes! And generally cupcakes make people happy.

Simple chocolate cupcakes with fluffy vanilla frosting tinted green served as the backdrop for little sugar football toppers. I thought about making football sugar cookie cutouts elaborately decorated with royal icing to simulate the iconic pigskin and white laces, but seriously? All that work for a football game? A scenario in which a bunch of guys crowding around a television will inhale the sweet treats without even remarking the hand crafted skill that went into them? No thank you. I actually didn’t even buy enough sugar footballs, so I had to pipe white laces onto chocolate covered almonds for the last few cupcakes. Alas, these are the sacrifices I make in the name of the game.

Oh and guess what, I FORGOT TO PUT BAKING SODA IN THE CUPCAKE BATTER. Who does that? Amateur mistake. But no worries, the cupcakes were delish and I think I may have invented a new type of brownie-cake hybrid. Rather than the typical airy cupcake fluffiness, they were dense and spongy with a rich chocolate flavor. I thought they looked a little flat when I pulled them out of the oven, but the astro turf frosting layer concealed their flatness quite well.

Oh and, um, go team! Score a goal unit!

About gttebykate

I am an amateur cook and baker who likes to feed her friends and whip up a frenzy in the kitchen. While I adore butter, sugar, and every kind of baked good, I also like to experiment with healthier options and substitutions...sometimes.
This entry was posted in Cupcakes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Oh look, they’re little footballs

  1. Pingback: Blogiversary! | Good Things to Eat

Leave a Reply

