Blogiversary!

Happy Birthday to my food blog!

Good Things to Eat is one year old and I can’t think of a better way to celebrate that magical year than with photos of cakes!

I can’t believe it’s been a year since I started photographing and writing about the food that I make. Food is such a personal experience for all of us. For me, the flavors, aromas, textures, and even familiar recipes evoke such a strong sense of purpose. Food doesn’t just feed us, it defines us. If we are what we eat, then we most certainly are what we cook.

So what do I have to show for this last year of food blogging? Well, a digital camera full of more pictures of food than people, that’s for sure.  I found more uses for pumpkin than I ever thought possible during my 31 Days of Pumpkin adventure in October. Many a celebration was marked with elaborate cakes and festive cupcakes by way of some epic 30th birthday parties. I experimented with our preconceived notions of certain treats by flipping the s’more on its end with its new savory cousin, the s’mizza. I celebrated our nation’s birthday with juicy berry pies decked out in stars and stripes.
I made new friends in the culinary world by exchanging cookies and exploring bakeries. I embraced my Midwestern roots by trying my hand at a classic old fashioned treat and even enjoyed a little football along the way. Okay, enjoyed is a strong word in that scenario. Let’s say tolerated, thanks in large part to my sports-themed confections. Cookies make any event better, especially if it involves sporting events. They certainly bring out the best of the holidays!

Muffins, pies, granola, pasta, soups, salads, cookies, candies, cupcakes, cakes, and MORE cupcakes! An abundance of delicious food and fun memories have been born out of this blog. Not only is Good Things to Eat essentially a record of all the good times and great food that’s been a part of my life, it’s also a digital time capsule in a way. I can look back at a post and see what inspired me that day or what was going on in the world that influenced my sweets and treats. So many people, books, sites, stories, and recipes have inspired me over the last year and I can only hope you’ve found some inspiration here at some point as well.

Here’s to another year full of good things to eat!

About gttebykate

I am an amateur cook and baker who likes to feed her friends and whip up a frenzy in the kitchen. While I adore butter, sugar, and every kind of baked good, I also like to experiment with healthier options and substitutions...sometimes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blogiversary!

  1. jen says:

    I’m so proud of you! And so excited for the next year of delicious confections, GTTE style. Congratulations! And thanks for all the treats. (SO many treats.)

  2. sbm says:

    Congratulations on a delicious year! Everyone loves ‘good things to eat!’ Here’s to another year of spectacular creations and original concoctions from the GTTE kitchen. 🙂

Leave a Reply

