Zesty and Refreshing Key Lime Pie Bars

It’s hot as balls outside. Pardon that graphic description, but my brain is fried from all this heat. When a run in Prospect Park quickly turns into a trek through the Amazon, a cool, refreshing, delicious treat is in order.

The snappy, crumbly graham cracker crumb crust is the perfect best for the cool, creamy key lime filling. Oh, by the way, this will totally work with regular limes and no one needs to know. I bought what I thought where key limes, thanks to the grocery store for a misplaced label and my general lack of knowledge as to how small key limes actually are. I used Martha’s recipe from her cookie book which called for about 23 limes. That seemed like an inordinate number of limes, but who am I to question Martha?

    

When I began juicing the limes (with the begrudging help of my older brother whose main baking skill is sneaking spoonfuls of cookie dough) I had enough juice after about 4 limes. That’s when I realized I was not using key limes. Ooops, my bad. But it was still delightfully limey and no one was the wiser. The flecks of fresh lime zest add a fruity twist to the creamy filling which is really just a simple combination of eggs and condensed milk.

    

The bars are baked in steps starting with the crust, then a layer of filling which has to be baked and cooled before spending at least 4 hours in the refrigerator until it sets up firmly. Try not to bake these on the morning of your beloved cousin’s going away party because you will be crunched for time. Best to get started the night before.

Once the filling is set and cooled you can slice the bars and top them with a dollop of whipped cream. OR if you plan to serve these in a bar surrounded by people ready to get their drink on you can skip the delicate dolloping and just slather the entire thing with a thick layer of fluffy homemade whipped cream. A colorful wedge of lime is the ideal garnish for this cool, zesty treat!

 

About gttebykate

I am an amateur cook and baker who likes to feed her friends and whip up a frenzy in the kitchen. While I adore butter, sugar, and every kind of baked good, I also like to experiment with healthier options and substitutions...sometimes.
This entry was posted in Bars and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Zesty and Refreshing Key Lime Pie Bars

  1. Priya says:

    I can vouch for these – they were delicious!!! Thanks, Kate! 🙂

Leave a Reply

