Chocolate Caramel Birthday Blondies

These blondies are outrageously delicious. Gooey caramel sprinkled with sea salt blankets a dense and chewy blondie base that’s absolutely riddled with semisweet chocolate chips.

As I slid my fork (yes, these messy treats are best consumed with a fork) through the chewy, chocolatey, salty-sweet, caramely goodness and raised a luscious bite to my lips, I made the declaration that these blondies are maybe one of my favorite things I have ever made. For serious.

Tuesday was my friend Jess’ birthday and naturally I asked for her favorite flavors so I could concoct a birthday treat for her. I was delighted when she requested blondies with some sort of chocolate and caramel element. Done and done. Another bonus: the blondies were served as a group of us watched Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1 in preparation for the epic finale this Friday. Chocolate, caramel, and Harry Potter — it doesn’t get better than that.

I scoured the vast web which stretches world wide until I found a blondie recipe that would suffice. I settled on a recipe for Fleur de Sel Chocolate Chip Blondies as the base for Jess’ customized birthday treat. It’s from Anne Thornton of The Food Network and Unique Sweets on the Cooking Channel. That show is awesome and everyone should watch it…

This recipe is great because it calls for lots of brown sugar which gives the blondies that carmelized flavor, while a pinch of sea salt added to the batter really cuts the sweetness. A generous three cups of chocolate chips finishes off the batter and the recipe warns that it will make your mixer groan like you’re forcing it to work too hard. This will in fact happen — don’t freak out, just let the chips do their thing.

But even with these gorgeous blondies baking in the oven, I still hadn’t accommodated each of Jess’ flavor requests. Where was the gooey caramel?? So I decided to whip up a batch of caramel sauce to drizzle over the top for added amazingness. This, however, was the flaw in my plan: caramel is my baking Kryptonite. It destroys any power I may have had in the kitchen. I always, ALWAYS mess it up. Usually I burn it, sometimes it crystalizes, occasionally it just gets all gummy, but I am a notorious caramel-ruiner. I even have a candy thermometer, but that didn’t help much except to tell me exactly which temperature the sugar reached before it burned. The caramel gods must have been smiling down on me this time because it turned out perfectly! Smooth, golden brown, sweet, hot, buttery caramel dripped from my wooden spoon after watching that cooked sugar like a hawk.

I drizzled my perfect caramel over the top of the cooling blondies and then, to gild the lily, I sprinkled the top with a handful of chocolate chips. In order to make the chocolate melt fully into the caramel, I popped the pan back into the off, but still hot oven — clever, I know. Using the back of a spatula I smoothed out the chocolate until it blended with the caramel. Since I had a bowl full of hot delicious caramel sitting around I drizzled even MORE on top and finally sprinkled the whole thing with delicate flakes of sea salt. And there you have it — blondies, the new birthday cake.

About gttebykate

I am an amateur cook and baker who likes to feed her friends and whip up a frenzy in the kitchen. While I adore butter, sugar, and every kind of baked good, I also like to experiment with healthier options and substitutions...sometimes.
This entry was posted in Bars and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chocolate Caramel Birthday Blondies

  1. Megan says:

    Ummmm….. These sound amazing! Chocolate and caramel is my favorite combination! I have visited your blog a couple times before and it is awesome. I am glad that you are doing stuff you love and living it up in NYC!
    🙂 Megan

Leave a Reply

