Carrot Cake Whoopie Pies

I struggled with what to call these delicious confections. The recipe says sandwich cookies, but that just didn’t seem to do them justice. I didn’t intend for them to stray into the whoopie pie zone, but I can’t think of how else to categorize them — the cookies just aren’t cookie-like. They’re more like a cake/cookie hybrid. Thus, the whoopie pie decision. Glad we cleared that up.

My lovely friend Emily requested carrot cake for her birthday treat (and by requested I mean, I kept hounding her until she chose a flavor for me to foist baked goods upon her. Such is the life being friends with me). I’d always been looking for a reason to make the carrot cake sandwich cookies from Martha’s cookie book and here the opportunity fell in my lap! Plus, cakes are tricky at bars, where the party was taking place, and cupcakes are you, you know, cupcakes. Nothing against the cupcake, I love them, I just need a break, Ross and Rachel style.

     

What made these little handheld versions of carrot cakes extra special, besides the smooth, sweet cream cheese frosting in the middle, is the use of freshly grated carrots. I think it helped make the cookies ridiculously moist and soft. The recipe called for raisins, which I would have loved, but the birthday girl was anti-raisin, so raisinless they were!

Look how cute Emily and her birthday buddy Carol are! That is sheer birthday carrot cake whoopie pie-fueled happiness right there. Also, people lose their shit when you bring homemade treats to a bar. Not people I know, like, actual strangers. I had to fend off randos and practically guard these bad boys with my life. They were just that good.

About gttebykate

I am an amateur cook and baker who likes to feed her friends and whip up a frenzy in the kitchen. While I adore butter, sugar, and every kind of baked good, I also like to experiment with healthier options and substitutions...sometimes.
This entry was posted in Desserts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Carrot Cake Whoopie Pies

  1. GG says:

    I loved reading your latest GTTE and I love carrot cake. These carrot whoopie pies look ‘delishius’! But — is there a Freudian slip in your commentary? Just wondering.

Leave a Reply

