It’s a streusel kind of day…

IMG_6557It’s cold and dreary and it’s making me want to stuff my face with the ultimate blustery day comfort food: coffee cake. The aroma of cinnamon and nuts wafting warmly through the air will put a smile on anyone’s face in the midst of this endless gray drizzle. It was just about this time last year when I ventured off for a winter getaway in the Berkshires with some wonderful ladies and I brought with us a homemade Pecan Streusel Coffee Cake for gnoshing and general breakfasting at the cabin.

IMG_6583This cake is dense and hearty, but the addition of Greek yogurt helps keep it moist. When it comes to recipes for anything with streusel in them, I say just make as much as you want (read: a lot) and swirl it all throughout the cake batter or make a thick streusel layer in the center of the cake. The point is: don’t skimp on the streusel. Sprinkle it on top with chopped nuts too! Streusel madness.

A slice of this coffee cake, a hot cup of (what else?) coffee, and a good book (might I suggest Hemingway’s A Moveable Feast?) and the dreariness of the day will fade away.

About gttebykate

I am an amateur cook and baker who likes to feed her friends and whip up a frenzy in the kitchen. While I adore butter, sugar, and every kind of baked good, I also like to experiment with healthier options and substitutions...sometimes.
This entry was posted in Cakes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s a streusel kind of day…

  1. Nancy Bartholomew says:

    I always thought your Mom’s sour cream coffee cake was the best, but I’d love to have YOUR recipe!

    • gttebykate says:

      Agreed, Grandmother, Mom’s sour cream coffee cake is the ultimate, but sometimes I like to shake things up. Her’s doesn’t have any nuts in it, so this is my nuttier choice. Click the link in the post to see the recipe from Bon Appetit!

  2. Rachel says:

    Take me back! Kate, we have to go baaaaaaacck!

Leave a Reply

