A Shower of Sweets

IMG_0416Last December, a glorious event occurred. My cousin Hallie, who is more like a sister to me or a best friend to whom I’m lucky enough to be related, got engaged to a fantastic guy named Matt. It was pretty epic, you may have heard about it

With wedding planning come many fun things like finding a venue (California’s Yosemite National Park for this adventurous couple!), choosing flowers, finding the perfect bridesmaid dresses, and of course — the wedding shower!

IMG_0759Because of my dessert prowess (if I may call it that…) and my general love of Hallie, I was asked to be in charge of the sweets and treats for the event. I immediately started brainstorming delicious confections I thought Hallie would die for. I wanted to go with individual treats that were handheld, easy to manage by ladies who lunch, and didn’t require forks or plates. Naturally, cupcakes came to mind (when do they not?), but I also wanted to do something a little different. For Hallie’s going away party when she left NYC a few years ago, I made these zesty Key Lime Pie Bars at her request. So when I stumbled upon a recipe for these adorable Mini Key Lime Whoopie Pies, I knew they would be the perfect twist on a favorite dessert.

IMG_0761The cupcakes in this scenario could be no ordinary cupcakes. I knew this occasion called for something legendary. Thus, I busted out a most decadent treat from the early days of Good Things to Eat, the Double Chocolate Salted Caramel Cupcakes that have lived in infamy ever since I brought two dozen of them to an Oscar viewing party attended by about six guests. That’s a killer cupcake-to-people ratio.

IMG_0758For my last trick, I whipped up a batch of Chocolate Champagne Truffles which I felt had the perfect balance of decadence and whimsy. Tell me that chocolate, infused with champagne and covered in sparkling sugar, doesn’t just scream celebration!

IMG_0756I jazzed up all of these wedding shower treats with festive cupcake liners and custom sprinkles in Hallie’s colors of fuchsia and orange, all of which I purchased on Etsy — the crafty baker’s go-to site. Then my craftiness got out of control at the last minute when I decided to make little labels to identify each dessert.

I can’t think of a sweeter way to kick off the celebration of Hallie and Matt’s wedding!

                     H&M

About gttebykate

I am an amateur cook and baker who likes to feed her friends and whip up a frenzy in the kitchen. While I adore butter, sugar, and every kind of baked good, I also like to experiment with healthier options and substitutions...sometimes.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Parties and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Shower of Sweets

  1. Hallie says:

    Amazing!! Everything was beyond delicious and extra special because it was made by you. Thank you so much my dear, I loved it all!! xoxo

Leave a Reply

