Showers for Brides and Babies

A very dear friend of mine got married this month and I had the honor of not only being a bridesmaid but also making her wedding shower desserts. When I initially asked her what her favorite flavors were, she panicked and could only think of chocolate and peanut butter (not a bad flavor combo to have in your back pocket…not literally though). She later emailed me with a list of favorite flavors and dessert ideas having perused this very blog. I decided to go with Chocolate Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Frosting, English Toffee Blondies (the groom is a Brit, after all), and Tiered Wedding Cake Sugar Cookies. I was quite proud of my handmade cupcake toppers — brown paper bags are a great secret weapon when it comes to crafting. I just punched out scalloped circles, stamped them with a heart on one side and ‘I Do’ on the other, taped them to toothpicks and tied them with a little red bow. I need professional help.

Word of my dessert-making prowess has spread through the land (yay!) and I actually got commissioned to make treats for an old high school pal’s baby shower. This was very exciting because it is essentially my dream come true to make desserts for a living. The mom-to-be requested an autumnal theme to her baby shower desserts, so I went with Applesauce Spice Cupcakes with Honey-Cinnamon Frosting and a Gingerbread Cookie Topper (marked with a ‘B’ just like the old nursery rhyme…and it’s the baby’s initial! Kismet), Pumpkin Whoopie Pies, and the classic standby Sweet and Salty Chocolate Chunk Blondies. Those blondies are like the that crowd pleasing third cheese on a cheese plate that balances the whole thing out. Always a good choice.

So happy to celebrate these momentous occasions with sweet treats!

About gttebykate

I am an amateur cook and baker who likes to feed her friends and whip up a frenzy in the kitchen. While I adore butter, sugar, and every kind of baked good, I also like to experiment with healthier options and substitutions...sometimes.
This entry was posted in Desserts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Showers for Brides and Babies

  1. Hallie says:

    And I’m salivating…YUM!

Leave a Reply

